PM- No New Provinces After All

Phnom Penh (FN), Oct. 5 – Prime Minister Hun Sen decided to cancel the creations of two new provinces, addressing on Friday at the commemoration of World Teachers’ Day 2018, held in Phnom Penh.

The reason was a few officials challenged one another to get leadership positions in the new provinces which has yet created.

The government announced late August to form two new provinces – one divided from Kandal province, and another one divided from Mondulkiri’s Koh Nhek district and Rattanakiri’s Lumphat, according to the letter dated on August 28, 2018.

Creating new provinces aim to improve the effectiveness of administration, security, public order, local development, and public services.

Currently, the Kingdom of Cambodia has 24 provinces and the Capital City is Phnom Penh.

2 thoughts on “PM- No New Provinces After All

  • December 11, 2018 at 11:55 am

    No new provinces, but your map is missing province Tboung Khmum completely.. 😉

    • December 11, 2018 at 2:34 pm

      TK is but a young upstart…..


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *